Since it is vegetable it cannot be called 'milk'. Goodbye, therefore, to the denomination 'soy milk', 'rice milk' as well as that of 'cream', 'butter' and cheese for products that are not of animal origin.Don't store avocado like this: it's dangerous
Since it is vegetable it cannot be called 'milk'. Goodbye, therefore, to the denomination 'soy milk', 'rice milk' as well as that of 'cream', 'butter' and cheese for products that are not of animal origin.
To establish this is a sentence of the Court of Justice of the European Union that puts an end to a controversy which has been going on for years and which sees the names of the defendants on the dock plant products, that recall those of animal origin.
It therefore comes directly from Luxembourg there market revolution of food products, why talk about milk, butter, yogurt or cheese for i vegan products it is not possible, as the terms refer exclusively to dairy products.
It all stems from a lawsuit between German society TofuTown, which produces and distributes 100% plant-based foods using the same names as the products of animal origin and the association Association of Social Competition, active in the field of unfair competition which claims that the denominations are one violation of Community legislation.
While TofuDown defends itself by explaining that the label clearly says 'tofu butter', 'rice cream' 'soy milk' and so on, the European Court establishes that all this is not enough, because the consumer can fall into misunderstanding.
The Court's decision refers to the community regulation 1234/2007 which states that the term 'milk' must refer exclusively to the 'product of normal mammary secretion, obtained by one or more milkings, without any addition or subtraction'. The only exceptions are almond milk, coconut milk and cocoa butter defined as 'traditional denominations'.
For more plant milk news, read also:
- HOW TO CHOOSE A GOOD VEGETABLE MILK? ADVICE FROM OUR EXPERTS
- HOW TO PREPARE SOY MILK AT HOME
- HOW TO PREPARE RICE MILK AT HOME
- ORGANIC ALMOND MILK: HOW TO PREPARE IT AT HOME
So no more soy milk but 'vegetable drink based on', moreover already used by many brands. The ruling has no retroactive effect, so at least for a while on the supermarket shelves we will read them old denominations, what will happen next? Will all packs be changed? For now, a bit of confusion remains.